Donna Agrell Doctoral Degree

docARTES PhD candidate Donna Agrell will publicly defend her thesis:

Repertoire for a Swedish Bassoon Virtuoso. Approaching early nineteenth-century works composed for Frans Preumayr with an original Grenser & Wiesner bassoon

on Tuesday 8 December 2015 at 13.45 hrs, at the Academiegebouw Leiden, Rapenburg 73. On Monday 7 December 2015, 19.00 hrs she will present the artistic outcomes of her research project in the form of a lecture-recital at the Waalse Kerk, Breestraat 62, 2311 CS, Leiden.


Chrisoph Ernst Friedrich Weyse (1774-1842)
from Sonata for two bassoons (1804)

Demonstration of high register
A flexible fingering system, set-ups, physical and mental strategies, with examples

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Adagio-Allegro con brio
Adagio cantabile
Tempo di menuetto
Tema con variazioni: Andante

from Septett in Es Dur, opus 20

Donna Agrell (bassoon), Luke Toppin (bassoon), Franc Polman (violin), Yoshika Moria (viola), Jan Insinger (violoncello), Robert Franenberg (double bass), Kayo Nishida (clarinet), and Teunis van der Zwart (horn).

Brief description of her research project

Frans Preumayr's nineteenth century virtuosic bassoon repertoire - An approach with a fine Grenser & Wiesner bassoon from Dresden: Issues of material and technique

What techniques and tools must be developed by period bassoonists in order to successfully approach the performance of Frans Preumayr's virtuosic repertoire?

"A Very Fine Eleven-Keyed Stained Maple Bassoon by H. Grenser & Wiesner, Dresden, circa 1825" - as titled in an entry in a London auction catalogue - is one of the few surviving examples of a complete period bassoon with all its parts, offering valuable information for both period instrument builders and players today.

This research project is based specifically on the unique opportunity that the Grenser & Wiesner instrument presents us with: an investigation of early nineteenth century bassoon works written for the Swedish virtuoso Frans Preumayr by composers such as Franz Berwald and Bernhard Henrik Crusell.

The supervising team consists of:

Prof.dr.h.c. Ton Koopman -Leiden University
Prof. Frans de Ruiter - Leiden University
Dr. Martin Kirnbauer - Universität Basel

Last Modified: 02-12-2015